top of page

The Literary Awards

A Day of Elegance

2024 Literary Awards Galleryl

2024 Frank Waters Award Winner

Mark Lee Gardner

The Frank Waters Award recipient for 2024 also received the Golden Quill award in 2010. Mark Lee Gardner’s accomplishments since then have merited this additional recognition.  Gardner is a local author with a national reputation, and a lifelong historian whose fascination with the American West has inspired his many books. The honoree for this award demonstrates writing excellence and produces work that reflects the people. places, culture and spirit of the West.

Gardner author photo - Copy.jpg

2024 Golden Quill Award Winner

Donna Guthrie

The Golden Quill honoree for 2024 is Donna Guthrie, an esteemed children’s book author, playwright, documentary filmmaker and podcaster. The award is given to an author from the Pikes Peak region who has achieved excellence in their published work.

2024 Donna Guthrie.jpg

2024 Best Friend Award Winner

Jim and Mary Ciletti

Not every year, but on occasion, the Friends of the Pikes Peak Library District will elect to present one more award during the Literary Awards Luncheon. This award is called the Best Friend Award and it is presented to a person(s) who have demonstrated  their support and commitment to both the library and the Friends that goes above and beyond. This year, the Friends are pleased to be honoring the power couple, Jim and Mary Ciletti.

Cillettis Approved.JPG
bottom of page